2017 Best Design Awards Winners

3 years ago by

Last Friday night the design community honoured some of Aotearoa’s best designers, and their projects from the past year, at the annual Best Design Awards. The acknowledgement of great design is a pinnacle event, and we want to extend our congratulations to all of the winners.

In the Graphic category, Inhouse took home the supreme Purple Pin for their work on Steinlager Tokyo Dry. Here is a selection of the gold winners from the Graphic category.Inhouse: Steinlarger Tokyo Dry

Creative Director: Arch MacDonnell; Design Director: Toby Curnow; Team Members: Arch MacDonnell, Toby Curnow, Dean Foster, Hamish Haydon, Sarah Gladwell; Contributors: Toaki Okano, Dean Foster, DDB

Client: Lion Breweries

Judge’s comments: An exemplary piece of work across various mediums from packaging to brand standards with a clear idea executed to the highest standard. Something fresh and different in a tough and saturated category.

Osborne Shiwan: Awa

Creative Directors: Lloyd Osborne, Shabnam Shiwan; Team Members: Lloyd Osborne, Shabnam Shiwan; Contributors: Charles Howells, Carolyn Haslett

Client: Atamira Dance Company

Judge’s comments: Powerful and impactful.

New New: Just Drink It

Creative Director: Kelvin Soh; Contributor: Mat Bogust

Client: Stolen Rum

Judge’s comments: Single minded and makes you smile. You react to it.

ALT Group: Silo Theatre 2017 Season Photography

Creative Director: Dean Poole; Team Members: Dean Poole, Janson Chau, Kennady Virak, Helen Clegg, Toaki Okano

Client: Silo Theatre

Judge’s comments: Stunningly beautiful and single minded.

Sea Change: Cazador – game, offal & the rest

Creative Directors: Tim Donaldson, Amanda Gaskin; Contributors: Pippa Drummond, Rebecca Smidt, Dariush Lolaiy, Simon Farrell-green, Kimberley Davis

Client: Cazador

Judge’s comments: This book tells a very complete story about the ethos and what they are about. Every single spread is flawless: the packaging, the printing, the whole thing. One of the nicest books the judges have ever seen.

Some supreme Purple Pin winners in other sections include:

Interactive – DNA: CERT New Zealand

Creative Directors: Phil Dunstan-Brown, Charlene Turei; Design Director: Stacy Orr; Team Members:

Katherine Allan, Zak Kinnaird, Idris Corap, Amy Revell, John Milmine, Andy Dover, Georgy Malanichev, Naomi Guyer, Jim Perry, Tony Watson, Julian Thomson, Jacob Roberts, Scott Newlands

Client: MBIE

Judge’s comments: This entry places the spotlight squarely on a real, urgent problem. The site’s progressive-disclosure model works brilliantly to guide the reader through, and the simplicity of layout works perfectly to bring clarity to its text-heavy content. Its sensitivity to typography and a strong understanding of hierarchy and content flow all contributed to this being the judges’ pick for the best interactive work in 2017. It is inspiring to see a brief taken to this level with a resulting outcome that is approachable, easy to consume, never overwhelming, and user focused above all else. Here’s to pushing the limits of not only government sites, but large-scale digital projects full stop.

Ngā Aho Award – Designworks: Air New Zealand Te Tohu

Creative Directors: Jef Wong, Clive Fugill; Design Director: Anzac Tasker; Team Members: Anzac Tasker, Stacey Gordine, Sam Currie, Sam O’Flaherty; Contributors: Jodi Williams, Andrew Baker, Erica Beagley, Jen Macindoe, Carly Wigley, Garrick Sutherland, Māori Language Commission, New Zealand Māori Arts and Crafts Institute

Client: Air New Zealand

Judge’s comments: For this project, Air New Zealand, The Māori Language Commission, and the New Zealand Māori Arts & Crafts Institute came together and worked with Designworks to bring to life Air New Zealand’s Māori Culture Strategy by providing a simple visual ‘tohu’ or emblem that staff with fluency in te reo Māori could wear with pride, that would say to Māori speaking customers ‘kōrero mai’. The resultant ‘waha’, or mouth symbol, derived from traditional carving motifs/language was described by judges as “a beautiful small object with a credible process and big agenda behind it”. The judges commend Air New Zealand for bringing te reo Māori to life inflight and see potential for such an icon to gain currency beyond Air New Zealand in recognising and celebrating te reo Māori speakers.

User Experience Award – DNA: Immigration New Zealand

Creative Director: Charlene Turei; Design Director: Stacey Orr; Team Members: Anna-Marie Antipas, Idris Corap, Charlene Turei, Julian Thomson, Tony Watson, Jacob Roberts, Naomi Guyer, Jim Perry, Georgy Malanichev, John Milmine, Andy Dover, Amy Revell, Katherine Allan, Kristin Jarvis

Client: MBIE

Judge’s comments: Serving over 12 million users each year, this solution shows how goal directed design and user research at the inception of a project can unlock innovation and compellingly frame up the case for transformation. In this instance, that foundation led to the re-organisation of Visa presentation and the elimination of complexity for users by way of a radically improved user-centred experience. This in turn has resulted in significant reduction in cost to serve and facilitated the continued growth in online channel migration for the business.

For a complete list of all the winners head over to the Best Awards site here.



Up Next...

Finding a mentor

Written by Sarah Ritchie The most successful agency people are those who care about developing their career, and who want to become the best possible version of themselves. One way to achieve this goal is by asking for professional guidance from others. There will be a stable-full of people whom you can talk with over…

More from 'Celebration'...

How Do We Encourage Collaboration?

A short while ago, Sam Allan from Onfire Design initiated ‘Battle of the Birken’ — a bowls competition between Birkenhead-based studios Onfire Design, Marx Design, Inhouse Design, PHD3 and Forever After. Sam says, “I organised the event to get together the local design community — it’s ok to have friendly rivalry in business, and is a…